Canvas Happy

I find crafting to be so therapeutic and relaxing. I am by no means an artist, and find most of my inspiration on Pinterest or from graphic design wizards posting to Tumblr and recreate them with my own twist and adjust according to my ability. In total, making these five prints was about a $15 endeavor ( I had some paint already ).  Whether crafting for big/little, friends, your room or just because, these designs can be used for any occasion.

What I Used:

Acrylic Paints in the following colors: Grape Taffy, Gold Glitter Paint, Multi Glitter Paint, Ultra Blue, White, Black

Pink Blast, Coastline Blue, Rain Grey, Yellow, Ocean Breeze, Brilliant Red, Violet

IMG_7846IMG_7847

8 x 10 inch canvases

Assorted paint brushes

Sharpie

Pencil


IMG_7838

Carolina in My Mind

Coastline Blue, Ultra Blue, Multi Glitter, PencilOutline the state shape of NC or SC. Fill in with a mixture of Coastline, Ultra, and White with an angled brush. I found Coastline alone to be too close to white, so I darkened it up (see photo)

Outline the state shape of NC or SCFIll in with a mixture of Coastline, Ultra, and White with an angled brush. I found Coastline alone to be too close to white, so I darkened it up (see photo)

Fill in with a mixture of Coastline, Ultra, and White with an angled brush. I found Coastline alone to be too close to white, so I darkened it up (see photo)

IMG_7836

While this dried, I painted “ Gone to… in my mind” in all caps in Ultra with a skinny brush. I then added “CAROLINA” in the same color and same brush.

I felt it needed a little more detail, so I added the glitter border around the state outline with another skinny brush.IMG_7839

Invisible Crown

Brilliant Red, Pink Blast, Black, White, Violet, Grape Taffy, Gold Glitter, Sharpie

For this and Wild and Free, I used various sizes and types of brushes (skinny, angled, sponge) and painted streaks of the colors, save black/white/glitter. I layered them over each other and blended some of the edges.

I then added streaks of white paint to brighten it up. When this dried, I painted a thin layer of glitter over.

I drew the words and crown with the sharpie, then went over the parts I wanted thicker with black and a thin brush. I used the cap of the Violet in white paint to put clusters of dots on the edges of the canvas

IMG_7845

Wild and Free

Pink Blast, Grape Taffy, Black, Gold Glitter, Rain Grey, Ocean Breeze, Coastline Blue

  1. See step one of Invisible Crown
  2. I added some glitter sparingly where I felt it was needed
  3. The first line was painted with a thin brush in grey, the rest with black

IMG_7844

Mermaid

Ocean Breeze, Gold Glitter, Black, Sharpie

  1. I covered the canvas in Ocean Breeze using a sponge brush
  2. I added the glitter paint, heavier at the bottom and less as you move up the canvas
  3. For the first and fourth lines, a sharpie was used
  4. For the other, thicker, words, a skinny brush with black paint was used

IMG_7842


2 thoughts on “Canvas Happy

Leave a Reply

