Beach Must Reads

The summer is the perfect time to unwind, relax and read a few good books. The school year is always so hectic, not to mention we are already forced to read and take notes for all our classes that we have no time for pleasure reading. Here are a few of my favorites, and a few I have in my Barnes & Noble Account for when I run out of pages to turn:

1. The Distant Hours ~ Kate Morton

I stole this book from a hotel library because it was just too good to return. It flashes backward and forwards through time to reveal the story of a mysterious murder that occurred many years ago in an old home in England. Three elderly sisters are the only ones who know the truth, but one young woman is drawn into finding the truth, and has more in common with the mystery and the sisters than she thought. There’s also an awesome twist ending that comes out of left field, so even though it’s a long read, stick with it!!

2. Before I Fall ~Lauren Oliver

This is definitely a less mature read, but at my age I still found the storyline and message completely relevant. Think Groundhog Day meets upper-middle-class high school in Connecticut, but with super relatable characters and one of the most satisfying conclusions I’ve ever read.

3. Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? ~ Mindy Kaling

If you’re looking for a quick and easy read and are reading somewhere where you don’t mind the looks you’ll get from laughing aloud, this is your book. Mindy Kaling (most notably from The Office) delivers her memoir in a super humorous, light, and re-readable way. Plus, as a Boston girl myself I appreciate a good hometown hero.

4. Paper Towns ~ John Green

Ugh ug hUHHGH- why must I wait until Friday to see the film rendition of this?! If you haven’t read it, you have three days. Margo is everyone you wish you could be with the balls to do it. She is every Tumblr post about running away, being yourself, throwing the bird to the people around you, and being an unapologetic girlboss. We love to hate her, because she’s selfish and manipulative yet so so independent and smart. Q is nothing short of loveable and loyal, and the tension between them combined with Green’s writing ( I would read his drunk texts, he’s that awesome) and the light, youthful tone make this a book I love re-reading.

5. Julie and Julia~ Julie Powell 

Just because I’m obsessed with Meryl Streep, and loved this movie, I decided to pick up the book. WHICH IS BETTER, LET ME TELL YOU. The emotions are so real, and Powell tells her true story beautifully. Even if you aren’t totally diggin the French chef vibes, Julie’s struggle can be related to almost any situation–because who else is a victim of never completing anything? Me! And possibly you, too.

I found this plot to be similar to The Devil Wears Prada (and no, not just because of Meryl Streep).

6. You Deserve a Drink ~ Mamrie Hart

I can’t give a full review yet, but from the sixty pages I’ve read in the last afternoon, this is a homerun memoir. If you’ve ever seen mametown videos or YDAD, you’ll fall in love with all Mamrie’s obscene and lovable anecdotes (and cocktail recipes) on paper.


Books I haven’t read but will get to and have heard WONNNNDERFULLLL things about: 

I Don’t Have a Happy Place ~ Kim Korson

The Vacationers ~ Emma Straub

I Take You ~ Eliza Kennedy

Leave a Reply

