Balancing Act

At the dinner table at home, I always receive flack for not emailing enough or answering my phone as often “as I should”. “I’m busy!” I squeal, but nobody seems to understand just how busy I am. It may seem daunting to have these jobs as editors and directors of publications as we tackle classes on top of our creative workloads. People have our positions on student media and organizations as their full-time job and we succeed atΒ  it on top of 18 credits of rigorous classes a semester, sorority recruitment practice, club lacrosse and a part time job. Are we stretched too thin? Or are we simply preparing ourselves for the oncoming stress of the real world?

Don’t get me wrong, I love being a busy body. I feel important dotting from computer classes and media writing to magazine team meetings and to the computer labs to drum up new ideas for social media campaigns. I love the rush because it makes me feel grown up, the illusion of inching closer to my dream job and dream life gives me a buzz better than any overpriced latte I’m known to indulge in.

I’m nineteen years old, so in the grand scheme of things I am incredibly young and naive. I would get eaten up in a real world atmosphere, probably be somewhere sobbing in a cubicle because my work was not up to par. But I am trying my best, and working with what I have to pursue my personal and career goals. So are we, as college students and millennials , selfish for skipping a few FaceTimes home? Not at all. Prioritizing is a part of growing up and although our families are a priority, being independent and self-reliant is important too.

Leave a Reply

